top of page
brown-watercolor-brush-stroke-7-1.png
brown-watercolor-brush-stroke-19.png

inabookdaze

"a girl who's always in a book daze"

Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan | Book Review


My request on NetGalley was approved by the publisher, so thank you Wednesday Books! My Rating: 3.25 / 5 🌟 One of the things I really enjoy about this book was how it was such an easy read for me, considering it's fantasy. World building and descriptive writing usually puts me off to continue a book but that wasn't the case at all with this one, so that's definitely a win for me. Wicked Saints was also very different than most fantasy books I've read. From the tone of the story to the way of storytelling, the direction Emily used to tell this story was something I find to be very refreshing. The magic system in this book was really intriguing for me considering how it had to do with Gods and religion. And I really appreciate how the system was being explained one at a time instead of dumping it all at once. Unfortunately, the characters in this book could definitely be better. The main characters weren't really that interesting to me and I find them to be very dull with little personality. Even the side characters were quite forgettable, they serve very little purpose to this story except to continue the plot. They didn't have enough moments in the book for readers to really get to know them and the information that was given were only bits and pieces of who they are. With that being said, I do see potential for all these characters to grow as the story progresses, and I'm really excited to see their development in the next book. Another sad thing is, I find that this story didn't really have a distinct plot. Before starting this novel, I decided to skip reading the synopsis and go into the story with as little knowledge as possible. And sadly, I couldn't really figure out what the main plot of the story was. It felt really messy and all over the place. The story had no clear direction to where it was heading and for me, it was a major flaw of the book. However, I do want to give major props to Emily for the representation in this book! From disabled characters to people of colour and a lesbian character, the diversity in this book deserves recognition. Writing diverse characters can be difficult and feel as if the author is trying too hard but the way Emily included these characters felt very seamless and it really worked well with the story. All in all, I really think this story has a lot of potential to grow as it continues on and I'm looking forward to read the next instalment in this trilogy.

 

Thank you so much for reading and click here to add "Wicked Saints" by Emily A. Duncan to your Goodreads!

bottom of page